naturism on the web

26 01 2009

Nudiarist pointed out that a lot of naturist organizations have pretty poor web presences. I’ve noticed the same thing, and I think I have an explanation, for at least some cases. I just joined Minnesota Naturists, and it seemed to me that the folks in charge are just not as web savvy as I am. I’m bit younger, and have more experience with the Internet. While I didn’t grow up with it, I’ve adapted to it fairly well, and oftentimes have a hard time remembering what life was like before we had this level of connectedness (never mind that I was out of college by the time the web really took off). In so many ways, the web is a central part of my everyday life, and I take it for granted that others don’t have this same level of connection to it. I’m a bit surprised, for instance, that MN Naturists doesn’t have a presence on Facebook.

I think it’s a generational thing. Most of the leadership in the naturist community grew up without personal computers – to say nothing of the Internet. Because naturist organizations are typically run by volunteers and on tight budgets, they just don’t have the time & skill to have a better web presence, nor the funds to outsource the job. I think it will be up to the next generation (mine, I guess) to bring naturism more fully into the 21st century. When do we start?

Actions

Information

One response

21 02 2009
gay naturist groups « local nudist

[…] segregation, but rather as a case of specialization. * Site includes a soundtrack; see my post on naturism and the web, as well as Nudiarist’s post on the same topic. ** I’ll address these topics in later […]

Leave a Reply

