my own body image

9 02 2009

Like most Americans, I’m overweight. I could stand to lose about 30 pounds or so, depending on how much muscle mass I added. The fact that I’m not an Adonis has only bothered me a little, and I am comfortable being nude despite my shortcomings. I’d thought that joining a nudist organization would reinforce that feeling. The reality has been more complex.

I don’t feel any more inadequate or less comfortable about being nude around others, but I do feel a slightly stronger urge to at least shed a few pounds and maybe tone up my muscles a bit. This change in attitude may be partially the result of a new regime of antidepressants, but it is driven primarily by a desire to look better naked. In some ways, this desire feels like a surrender to unrealistic cultural ideals of beauty, but I recognize that there is also an element of wanting to be healthier. And I feel like if I were truly succumbing to cultural pressures, I would be doing a lot more than 30-60 minutes of exercise three or four times a week. I’d be spending two or three hours a day at the gym, bulking up and slimming down, trying to achieve the perfect body. I’m not interested in perfection, but I would like to jiggle less when I go up and down stairs, and not be out of breath after hauling a load of groceries up to the apartment.

I’m still working up the courage to post a pic on this blog. Plus, I should probably run the idea past my partner & see what he has to say about the idea.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 02 2009
All Nudist

When we started All Nudist the only pic of either of us was a small one of me that, for technical reasons, couldn’t be enlarged. Only one we had.

Later I tossed in a few as the situation called for. Later, Angie finally bit the bullet and pops up now and them.

It’s one thing to be nude around nudists, quite another to put it out there for strangers, familly, friends to see.

Then there’s the exibitionist angle. Well, so what?

Then there’s folks that so love being nude that they want to share that joy with others. Lead by example, so to speak.

We’d like to post more pics of places we go and events we attend but most of those places don’t allow pictures.

So don’t rush it, do what you want when you want. And don’t forget about where you work now, and where you might be in 20 years. You never know who will see your pics!

9 02 2009
Rick

I think you’ve got the right idea. Accepting your own body doesn’t mean you don’t try to become healthier. I’m comfortable being nude with others but I still have a ways to go before I’m completely accepting of my body.

I had been trying to get into the habit or regular exercise for years and it never lasted long. At one point I had lost about 20 pounds but gained it all back.

Since diabetes runs in my family, my doctor had me attend some classes and start monitoring my carb intake and my blood sugar. Watching my carbs has lowered my blood sugar and led to healthier choices in my diet. A pleasant side effect was a gradual weight loss. In the last 6 to 8 months, I’ve lost about 35 pounds. I still jiggle as I still haven’t worked in the exercise part yet.

Good luck to you. As for posting a pic, don’t rush it. Don’t do it if you’re not comfortable with it. And getting your partner’s input is a good idea.

10 02 2009
h

Try the exercise and diet, localnudist. Tell everyone you’re on a health kick. Then the pressure is on you to perform, something to motivate you.
I also have my own body image problem that scares me off from joining a suburban nudist group. I’m kinda short and skinny. Maybe I could be the club’s elf. lol.

Leave a Reply

